Who Says So?

I say so. You say so. Every one else…not so much.

Ideally that would be a pretty great world to live in. Not the case though. Everyone has something to say in regards to how you are living your life, and what they think is best. Or the unsolicited advice that is shared most times out of genuine love. My challenge today is not to the individuals with the something to be said. I fall into that category often times myself.

I am challenging the author of your voice; you! Sometimes we may get overwhelmed with our mental tennis game, of what they just said and what we really wish to say back. Or play the scenario out in our heads post interaction of the way it should have went. The only thing that does is consume time and thoughts.

Shh..

I dare you to actually listen. Not to what they are saying, but to your inner thoughts speaking what you believe about yourself. If your inner thoughts aren’t beating down their voice that is contrary to what you believe about yourself or inspiring, encouraging and uplifting. You have work to do.

Give it shot…just listen. I say so.

*image provided by google*

2 thoughts on “Who Says So?

  1. Love this! This theme has been coming up a lot for me lately….

    I mean, I believe that listening is one of the most important elements in good communication. I am proud to say that I am no longer a fixer… And that means my friends love coming to me to talk…. Or just to be heard. I love that honor… Somewhere along the way, I realized how much I cannot stand being “fixed” by others… And that when I talk, I just want to be heard and the quickest way to alienate me from anyone, really is to try to fix me or to act like you know what’s best for me… And through doing that (working less on fixing/helping others and more on listening) I have developed a more empowered relationship with others and also my own self. The skill I’m working on now is listening to myself… Not the ego chatter, but when I am uncomfortable and need to make a change, it is imperative that I stop and listen bbecause I am the only one who can answer my own longings and if I don’t listen to myself… I’ll just be foundering about with no real sense of purpose.

    Thanks for this post! Thanks for letting me share my own thoughts as I find my own clarity too. 🙂

    Have a great weekend!
    Lindsey

Leave a Reply

